
A free hotel room at a luxury hotel comes from one of four places: points redeemed for an award night, a free night certificate from a co-branded credit card, a free night earned as an elite milestone, or a programme promotion such as a fifth night free on award stays. “Free” means no cash for the room rate. Taxes, resort fees and transfers can still apply, and points and certificates have to be earned first.
The figures below are from the programmes’ and card issuers’ own pages, read on 9 October 2026, unless a dated publication is named. Tier rules and full award charts are in our hotel rewards programme comparison.
Routes to a free luxury night compared
| Route | What you get | What it takes | Luxury example | Main limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Points redemption | Award night at any participating hotel | Earning or transferring enough points | Waldorf Astoria Maldives: 250,000 Hilton points a night | Marriott, Hilton and IHG price dynamically; Waldorf Astoria Maldives standard rewards were on 10.8% of nights (April 2026) |
| US co-branded card certificate | One night a year, capped by points value | Annual fee (US$95 to US$650) and, on some cards, a spending threshold | Hilton Aspire certificate at the Waldorf Astoria Maldives | Caps at 35,000 to 85,000 points on Marriott cards; Hyatt card caps at Category 4 |
| UK co-branded card certificate | One night up to 25,000 or 50,000 Marriott points | £25,000 card spend (Amex) or foreign-currency spend (debit cards) | Marriott only | No Hilton, IHG or Hyatt credit card for UK applicants |
| Elite milestone reward | Hyatt free night certificates at 30, 60, 100 and 150 nights; Marriott certificate at 75 nights | Qualifying nights in one calendar year | Hyatt Ultimate Free Night Award (Category 1 to 8) at 150 nights | 30 to 150 nights a year |
| Award-stay discounts | Fifth night free (Marriott, Hilton), fourth night free (IHG cardholders) | A points booking of four or five nights | Six Senses Laamu with IHG’s fourth night free | Standard rooms only on Hilton and IHG |
| Status match | Elite benefits, not free nights | Proof of status elsewhere, then paid nights | Hilton Gold or Diamond via challenge | Hyatt and Marriott run no public match |
Points costs at named luxury hotels
Each figure is per night for a standard room, with its source date.
| Hotel | Programme | Points per night | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alila Ventana Big Sur | World of Hyatt (Category 8) | 35,000 to 75,000 | Hyatt award chart, October 2026; category from The Points Guy, February 2026 |
| Park Hyatt London River Thames | World of Hyatt (Category 8 from 20 May 2026) | 35,000 to 75,000 | Hyatt award chart, October 2026; category change from AskSebby, April 2026 |
| Alila Mayakoba | World of Hyatt (Category 7 from 20 May 2026) | 25,000 to 55,000 | As above |
| The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort | Marriott Bonvoy | Up to 220,000 (highest 2026/27 rate) | The Points Guy, 8 July 2026 |
| The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto | Marriott Bonvoy | Up to 168,000 | The Points Guy, 8 July 2026 |
| The St. Regis New York | Marriott Bonvoy | Up to 164,000 | The Points Guy, 8 July 2026 |
| The Ritz-Carlton Maui, Kapalua | Marriott Bonvoy | 107,733 average; up to 142,000 | The Points Guy, 13 March and 8 July 2026 |
| The St. Regis Bermuda Resort | Marriott Bonvoy | 106,411 average | The Points Guy (Gondola data), 13 March 2026 |
| JW Marriott Grosvenor House London | Marriott Bonvoy | 102,827 average | The Points Guy (Gondola data), 13 March 2026 |
| Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi | Hilton Honors | 250,000 (standard room reward) | The Points Guy, 19 April 2026 |
| Six Senses Laamu | IHG One Rewards | 570,000 for four nights, fourth night free | The Points Guy, updated 23 June 2026 |
- Hyatt is the only one of the four with a published chart. Since 20 May 2026 each category has five price levels. A Category 8 standard room is 35,000 points at the lowest level, 55,000 at the moderate level and 75,000 at the top. Standard rooms have no blackout dates.
- Hilton standard room rewards at the Waldorf Astoria Maldives were available on 31 dates, 10.8% of bookable nights, in Gondola data published by The Points Guy on 19 April 2026. Other dates were premium room rewards, from 1,155,000 points a night in the same data. The same article cites a mandatory US$1,235 per person return transfer from Malé.
- Six Senses Laamu: The Points Guy compared the 570,000-point stay with a paid half-board package at US$3,528 for the same four nights, a value of 0.62 US cents per point.
Free night certificates from US credit cards
Card terms as published by Chase and American Express on 9 October 2026. Welcome offers change often and are left out.
| Card | Annual fee | Certificate each year | Extra certificates from spending |
|---|---|---|---|
| World of Hyatt Credit Card (Chase) | US$95 | Category 1 to 4 hotel, after each cardmember anniversary | One more Category 1 to 4 night after US$15,000 in a calendar year |
| Marriott Bonvoy Boundless (Chase) | US$95 | Up to 35,000 points | None |
| Marriott Bonvoy Bevy (Amex) | US$250 | None | One night up to 50,000 points after US$15,000 in a calendar year |
| Marriott Bonvoy Business (Amex) | US$125 (Upgraded Points, 5 October 2026) | Up to 35,000 points | One more after US$60,000 in a calendar year |
| Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant (Amex) | US$650 | Up to 85,000 points, after the card renewal month | None |
| Hilton Honors Surpass (Amex) | US$150 | None | One Free Night Reward after US$15,000 in a calendar year |
| Hilton Honors Aspire (Amex) | US$550 | One Free Night Reward, from the first year | A second after US$30,000 and a third after a further US$30,000 in a calendar year |
| IHG One Rewards Premier (Chase) | US$150 | Up to 50,000 points; extra points can be added | Spending unlocks status and bonus points |
| IHG One Rewards Premier Select (Chase, launched 1 October 2026) | US$350 | Up to 60,000 points; extra points can be added | An additional free night from spending (amount not stated in the launch release) |
| IHG One Rewards Business (Chase) | US$200 | Up to 50,000 points; extra points can be added | An additional free night from spending (amount not stated) |
The Hilton Honors Business card (US$195) includes a Free Night Reward only in its welcome offer. IHG says existing IHG cardholders will be told in October 2026 when the new benefits take effect, and that annual fees will change in 2027.
What each certificate reaches at the top end
- Hilton certificates have no points cap but only book standard room rewards. That makes the Aspire certificate usable at the Waldorf Astoria Maldives (250,000 points) on the dates such rooms are released.
- Marriott certificates can be topped up with up to 25,000 of your own points per certificate per night, up from 15,000 on 12 March 2026. An 85,000-point Brilliant certificate plus top-up reaches 110,000 points. Gondola’s data for The Points Guy (March 2026) put 99% of Marriott hotels within that on average nightly price, including the St. Regis Bermuda and JW Marriott Grosvenor House London. The St. Regis Maldives at 220,000 is out of reach. Certificate expiry dates cannot be extended, and certain hotels charge resort fees on top.
- IHG certificates accept any number of extra points, so a 50,000-point certificate plus points can book a hotel priced above the cap. Premier certificates must be used, and the stay completed, within 12 months of issue.
- Hyatt card certificates stop at Category 4, which is 12,000 to 25,000 points a night on the current chart. They do not reach Category 7 or 8 hotels such as Alila Ventana Big Sur. Resort fees are waived on Hyatt free night awards.

Free night certificates from UK cards
ClearScore’s review of UK hotel credit cards (3 September 2026) found no co-branded Hilton, IHG or Hyatt credit card open to UK applicants. Hilton offers UK debit cards through Currensea but no credit card. The UK options for free nights are Marriott’s:
| Card | Annual fee | Free night |
|---|---|---|
| Marriott Bonvoy American Express | £95 | One night up to 25,000 points after £25,000 of spending following each card anniversary |
| Marriott Bonvoy debit card, premium (Currensea) | £175 | One night worth 25,000 points on renewal after £5,000 to £9,500 of foreign-currency spending; 50,000 points above £9,500 |
| Marriott Bonvoy debit card, standard (Currensea) | £55 | None; 10 Elite Night Credits a year |
With the 25,000-point top-up, the Amex certificate reaches hotels priced up to 50,000 points a night.
UK American Express Membership Rewards points transfer to Hilton Honors at 1:2 and to Marriott Bonvoy at 2:3. Amex is adding 40% to Hilton transfers until 24 November 2026. The Platinum Card (£650 a year) includes Hilton Honors Gold, Marriott Bonvoy Gold Elite and ALL Accor Gold, which are status benefits, not free nights.
Transferring bank points to hotel programmes
| Points currency | Hotel partners and ratio | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Amex Membership Rewards (US) | Hilton 1:2, Marriott 1:1 | The Points Guy, 18 August 2026 |
| Amex Membership Rewards (UK) | Hilton 1:2, Marriott 2:3 | American Express UK, October 2026 |
| Chase Ultimate Rewards | Hyatt, Marriott and IHG, 1:1, except Hyatt at 4:3 for some cards | The Points Guy, 7 September 2026 |
Chase moved Hyatt transfers to 4:3 for Sapphire Preferred cards opened on or after 15 June 2026, and from 1 October 2026 for all Ink Business Preferred cardholders. At 4:3, a 35,000-point Hyatt night needs 47,000 Chase points.
Free nights from elite milestones
| Programme | Free night milestones per calendar year | Other milestone rewards |
|---|---|---|
| World of Hyatt | 30 nights: Category 1 to 4 night. 60 nights: Category 1 to 7 night. 100 nights: Category 1 to 7 night. 150 nights: Ultimate Free Night Award, any Category 1 to 8 hotel or Miraval resort | Suite Upgrade Awards, Guest of Honor Awards, bonus points |
| Marriott Bonvoy | 75 elite nights: Annual Choice Benefit options include a free night certificate up to 40,000 points (The Points Guy, January 2026) | 50 nights: five Nightly Upgrade Awards among other options |
| Hilton Honors | None | 10,000 bonus points every 10 nights after 40 nights; 30,000 bonus points at 60 nights |
| IHG One Rewards | None listed | A choice every 10 nights from 20 to 100: bonus points, food and beverage rewards or Confirmable Suite Upgrades |
Hyatt’s thresholds can also be met with Base Points: 50,000 Base Points for the 30-night reward and 100,000 for the 60-night reward. Hyatt free nights count as qualifying nights.
Fifth night free and other award-stay discounts
- Marriott Bonvoy: a five-night award stay gets one night free, for every member.
- Hilton Honors: the fifth night is free on standard room stays booked with 100% points, for Silver members and above. The Surpass card’s included Gold status qualifies.
- IHG One Rewards: every fourth night is free on standard room reward stays of four or more nights, for holders of the Premier, Premier Select and Business cards. The no-fee IHG One Rewards card adds it after US$5,000 of spending.
- World of Hyatt: no equivalent. Points + Cash prices a Category 8 standard room at 17,500 to 37,500 points plus cash.

Status matches
A status match gives elite benefits, such as upgrades and breakfast, not free nights. As of The Points Guy’s January 2026 review and Hilton’s current offer page:
- Hilton Honors matches status from Marriott, IHG, Hyatt, Accor and other programmes to Gold for 90 days. Six paid nights in that period keep Gold through 31 March 2028; 12 nights upgrade to Diamond through 31 March 2028. Proof of status and of a recent stay is required.
- Marriott Bonvoy publishes no status match or challenge. The Points Guy reports occasional approvals by phone.
- World of Hyatt generally offers no public match. Some corporate travel programmes and American Airlines elite members have routes to Hyatt status.
- IHG One Rewards runs occasional targeted challenges and was not promoting a match in January 2026.
For upgrades once you are at the hotel, see how to get an upgrade at a luxury hotel.
What changed since this guide was first published
The original guide (October 2021) gave ten tips. Changes in this update:
- Dropped: complaining for a free night, working in travel, growing a social media following, reward apps, best price guarantees and cashback cards. None produces a free luxury night that can be checked against published terms, and price guarantees and cashback reduce a paid rate rather than remove it.
- Dropped: the Soneva and Hyatt targeted promotions, which have no current published terms, and the 2021 card sign-up bonuses, which are out of date.
- Updated: IHG Rewards Club is now IHG One Rewards. The IHG Premier anniversary night cap rose to 50,000 points, and the Premier Select card launched on 1 October 2026. The Marriott Brilliant certificate is capped at 85,000 points and the card costs US$650. The Hilton Aspire card now carries an annual free night and up to two more from spending.
- Added: dated points costs at named luxury hotels, certificate caps and top-up rules, UK cards, transfer ratios, elite milestone free nights and status matches.