
This is our selection of 25 island resorts: 17 from the Indian Ocean, the Pacific, Asia, the Caribbean and Greece, and eight in Australia. Most were on the 2021 version of this guide or its Australian companion. Every resort was rechecked on 9 October 2026 against its official website, the Michelin Guide hotel selection, Forbes Travel Guide and The World’s 50 Best Hotels.
Comparison table
Michelin Keys are from the 2026 selection, published 18 September 2026. Forbes ratings are as shown on forbestravelguide.com in October 2026. “Not listed” means the resort has no rating or Key on that guide. Keys count is the resort’s own figure unless marked.
| Resort | Island, country | Rooms, villas | Michelin Keys | Forbes Travel Guide | Children | Meals |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Soneva Fushi | Kunfunadhoo, Maldives | 63 villas (50 Best) | 3 | Four-Star | Kids’ club (The Den) | Meal packages |
| Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi | Ithaafushi, Maldives | 117 villas | None | Five-Star | Kids’ club, 4 to 11 | Breakfast; no all-inclusive |
| LUX* South Ari Atoll | Dhidhoofinolhu, Maldives | 193 villas | None | Five-Star | Kids’ club, 3 to 11 | All-inclusive optional |
| Lily Beach Resort & Spa | Huvahendhoo, Maldives | About 120 villas | None | Not listed | Kids’ club, 3 to 11 | All-inclusive (compulsory) |
| Anantara Dhigu Maldives | Dhigufinolhu, Maldives | 110 villas | None | Not listed | Kids’ club | All-inclusive optional |
| North Island | North Island, Seychelles | 11 villas | None | Not listed | Children’s activities | Not published |
| The Brando | Tetiaroa, French Polynesia | 35 villas + 1 residence | 3 | Five-Star | Under-12s offer | All-inclusive optional |
| Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora | Motu Tehotu, French Polynesia | 115 (108 overwater) | 2 | Recommended | Kids’ club, 5 to 12 | Full-board package optional |
| Likuliku Lagoon Resort | Malolo, Fiji | 45 bures (10 overwater) | None | Not listed | Adults only (17+) | Full board included |
| NIHI Sumba | Sumba, Indonesia | 27 villas (50 Best) | 3 | Not rated | Kids’ club, 4 to 12 | Meals and soft drinks included |
| Song Saa Private Island | Koh Rong archipelago, Cambodia | 24 villas | None | Not listed | Two-bedroom villas | All-inclusive optional |
| Alila Villas Uluwatu | Bali, Indonesia | 65 villas (Michelin) | None | Four-Star | Children’s programme | All-inclusive optional |
| Jumby Bay Island | Long Island, Antigua | 40 cottages, 12 villas, 22 estates | 2 | Four-Star | Kids’ club, 3 to 12 | All-inclusive (cottages, villas) |
| COMO Parrot Cay | Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos | 72 (2020 press kit) | 1 | Recommended | Kids’ club, 4 to 12 | Full-board package optional |
| Jade Mountain | St Lucia | 29 sanctuaries | 2 | Four-Star | 16+ | All-inclusive optional |
| Anse Chastanet | St Lucia | 49 rooms | None | Recommended | 8+ | All-inclusive optional |
| Porto Zante Villas & Spa | Zakynthos, Greece | Not consistent (see below) | 1 | Not listed | Kids’ club | Not published |
| Lizard Island Resort | Lizard Island, Australia | 40 | 3 | Recommended | 10+ | All-inclusive |
| Southern Ocean Lodge | Kangaroo Island, Australia | 25 suites | 3 | Recommended | 10+ | All-inclusive |
| Capella Lodge | Lord Howe Island, Australia | 9 suites | 2 | Recommended | Not checked | Not checked |
| qualia | Hamilton Island, Australia | 61 pavilions + 2 residences | 1 | Not listed | 16+ | Breakfast included |
| InterContinental Hayman Great Barrier Reef | Hayman Island, Australia | 182 | None | Not listed | Kids’ club (school holidays) | Breakfast; all-inclusive optional |
| Orpheus Island Lodge | Orpheus Island, Australia | 14 | None | Not listed | Not stated | All-inclusive |
| Bedarra Island Resort | Bedarra Island, Australia | 12 villas | None | Not listed | 16+ | All-inclusive |
| Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island | Kangaroo Island, Australia | Not published | None | Not listed | 12+ | Breakfast, dinner, drinks with dinner |
“None” under Michelin Keys covers two cases: Waldorf Astoria Ithaafushi, Anantara Dhigu, Song Saa, Alila Villas Uluwatu and InterContinental Hayman appear in Michelin’s hotel selection without a Key; the others are not in the selection.
On The World’s 50 Best Hotels 2026 (1 to 100, announced 15 September 2026), two resorts in this guide appear: NIHI Sumba at 35 and Soneva Fushi at 55.
How we chose
The starting point was the 2021 list and the 16 Australian resorts from the old Australian guide. A resort stayed if it is still open, still positioned at the top end and on an island. Two were added for this update: Soneva Fushi, which holds three Michelin Keys and a 2026 World’s 50 Best Hotels ranking, and Capella Lodge on Lord Howe Island, which holds two Keys. Rates are given only where the resort publishes a dated price.
For overwater villas specifically, see our guide to luxury overwater villas. For more Caribbean options, see luxury resorts in the Caribbean islands.
Maldives and Seychelles
Soneva Fushi, Maldives
Soneva Fushi is on Kunfunadhoo Island in Baa Atoll, a 40-minute seaplane flight from Malé. Sonu and Eva Shivdasani opened it in 1995. It has 63 villas, each with a butler, according to The World’s 50 Best Hotels profile. Villa categories run from beach and overwater villas to signature residences with up to 11 bedrooms. The kids’ club is called The Den.
- Michelin three Keys (2026); Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star
- The World’s 50 Best Hotels: 28 in 2025, 55 in 2026
Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi
Opened in 2019 on Ithaafushi in South Malé Atoll, 40 to 45 minutes from Velana airport by the resort’s yacht. The resort lists 117 villas, all with a private infinity pool; Michelin lists 122 rooms. A separate private island, 3 minutes away by boat, takes up to 18 guests across a two-bedroom overwater villa, a three-bedroom beach villa and a four-bedroom residence.
- Largest villa on the main island: Three Bedroom Overwater Villa with Pool, 1,113 m², two infinity pools
- Dining: 11 restaurants and bars, including Zuma and The Ledge
- Families: The Stars Club for ages 4 to 11; two- and three-bedroom villas
- Meals: breakfast is generally included; there is no all-inclusive package
- Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star; in the Michelin selection without a Key
LUX* South Ari Atoll Resort & Villas
On Dhidhoofinolhu in South Ari Atoll, inside the South Ari Marine Protected Area; the resort runs whale shark excursions. The transfer is a 25-minute seaplane flight. The resort was refurbished by P49 Deesign and reopened in 2016, and the water villas were refurbished again in 2025. It has 193 villas and pavilions along more than 2 miles of beach.
- Top villa: LUX* Villa, one bedroom, 360 m², infinity pool and glass floor
- Families: PLAY kids’ club for ages 3 to 11, a teens’ programme, and Family Beach and Lagoon Pavilions with two interconnecting rooms (120 to 130 m²)
- Dining: 8 restaurants and 5 bars
- Meals: all-inclusive is one of four meal plans; in-villa dining is not included in any plan
- Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach is on Huvahendhoo in South Ari Atoll, 20 to 25 minutes from Malé by seaplane, and is Maldivian-owned. All guests are on the Platinum all-inclusive plan: three buffet meals, one dinner a week at Tamarind, 80 wines, Taittinger by the glass, the minibar, non-motorised water sports and three excursions per stay. The villa page lists about 120 villas.
- Top villas: Beach Residence (one villa, 225 m²) and four Sunset Water Suites (182 m², private jacuzzi pool)
- Families: Turtle Kids Club for ages 3 to 11; five Beach Family Villas (136 m²)
- Dining: 4 restaurants and 4 bars
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Opened in 2006 on Dhigufinolhu in South Malé Atoll, 30 minutes from the airport by speedboat. All 40 overwater villas were refurbished in 2024, when four Deluxe Sunset Over Water Pool Villas were added. The resort has 110 villas Several of the restaurants listed for Dhigu are at Anantara Veli across the lagoon, reached by pontoon.
- Top villa: Two Bedroom Anantara Beach Pool Villa, 321 m²
- Families: Dhoni Kids’ Club with a teens’ room, a Two Bedroom Family Beach Pool Villa (237 m²), and children under 12 eat free on their parents’ meal plan
- Meals: all-inclusive is sold as an offer, not the default rate
- In the Michelin selection without a Key
North Island, Seychelles
North Island has 11 villas on a 201-hectare private island in the Seychelles’ inner islands. It left Marriott’s Luxury Collection on 1 July 2025 and is now independent; bookings are direct only. Ten Beachfront Villas measure 450 m² and Villa North 750 m², each for up to four guests with a plunge pool. The whole island can be booked. The helicopter operator Zil Air lists a 15-minute transfer from Mahé.
- Dining: The Piazza and the Sunset Bar, plus dining anywhere on the island
- Families: no kids’ club; studies in the villas convert for children
- Meal plan: not published on the official site
French Polynesia and Fiji
The Brando, Tetiaroa
The Brando opened in 2014 on Tetiaroa atoll, a 20-minute Air Tetiaroa flight from Tahiti. It has 35 beach villas and the Teremoana Residence. There are no overwater villas.
- Villas: one-bedroom 96 m², two-bedroom 168 m², three-bedroom 246 m²
- Top villa: Teremoana Residence, 279 m² inside plus 279 m² of deck and pool, three bedrooms
- Dining: Les Mutinés, Nami Teppanyaki and Beachcomber Café, plus Bob’s Bar and Te Manu Bar
- Families: children under 12 fly, stay and eat free under an offer published January 2026; some excursions have a minimum age of 12
- Meals: all-inclusive and villa-with-breakfast rates
- Michelin three Keys (2025 and 2026); Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star; The World’s 50 Best Hotels 47 in 2024
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Opened in September 2008 on Motu Tehotu, a private islet in the Bora Bora lagoon facing Mount Otemanu. The transfer is a 45-minute flight from Papeete and a 15-minute boat ride. Of 115 keys, 108 are overwater bungalow suites and seven are beachfront villa estates. Twenty-seven overwater suites have plunge pools (104 to 207 m²).
- Top villa: Three-Bedroom Premier Beachfront Villa Estate, 500 m² plus 2,000 m² outside, private pool
- Families: Kids For All Seasons for ages 5 to 12; two-bedroom overwater suites; two- and three-bedroom villa estates
- Dining: four restaurants
- Meals: no standard all-inclusive rate; an “Inclusive Plunge Pool Escape” package adds three meals a day in plunge-pool suites
- Michelin two Keys (2025 and 2026); Forbes Travel Guide Recommended
Likuliku Lagoon Resort, Fiji
Likuliku opened in 2007 on Malolo Island in the Mamanuca group, 25 km from Nadi airport by catamaran, speedboat or helicopter. It closed from February to April 2025 for a refurbishment: every bure was refreshed, 11 beachfront bures gained plunge pools and the Saluwaki restaurant opened. The resort calls its 10 overwater bures the only ones in Fiji.
- Rooms: 45 bures, all one-bedroom (overwater 91 m², deluxe beachfront with plunge pool 100 m²)
- Adults only: no guests under 17
- Meals: three meals a day and one dinner at Saluwaki are included; alcohol is not listed as included
- Not in Michelin’s Fiji selection
Indonesia and Cambodia
NIHI Sumba, Indonesia
NIHI Sumba started as a surf lodge called Nihiwatu, founded by Claude and Petra Graves, on the west coast of Sumba. The flight from Bali to Tambolaka takes about an hour. It has 27 villas according to The World’s 50 Best Hotels; Michelin lists 31.
- Larger villas: Raja Mandaka (two bedrooms), The Treehouse (three bedrooms), Marangga Family Estate (four bedrooms, sleeps 8 adults and 2 children)
- Families: NIHI Wildlings Kids Club for ages 4 to 12; under-6s stay free in the same room
- Meals: three meals, non-alcoholic drinks, the minibar and a daily hour of beer and house wine are included; other alcohol and the spa are extra
- Dining: Ombak, Kaboku (omakase), Nio Beach Club and the Boathouse Bar
- Michelin three Keys (2025 and 2026); The World’s 50 Best Hotels 18 in 2023, 10 in 2024, 56 in 2025, 35 in 2026
Song Saa Private Island, Cambodia
Opened in 2013 on two islands in the Koh Rong archipelago, 30 to 45 minutes by boat from Sihanoukville. It has 24 jungle, ocean-view and overwater villas and is independently owned.
- Top villa: The Royal Villa, overwater, 300 m², two bedrooms, 33 m² pool
- Meals: an all-inclusive package covers all meals, house drinks, one spa treatment per guest and shared speedboat transfers
- In the Michelin selection without a Key
Alila Villas Uluwatu, Bali
Alila Villas Uluwatu is a clifftop resort on Bali’s Bukit Peninsula rather than a beach resort: the beach below is 663 steps down and not recommended for swimming. The resort opened in 2009 and is part of Hyatt. Michelin lists 65 villas. It is 40 to 50 minutes by road from Denpasar airport.
- Villas: One-Bedroom Pool Villa 290 m²; Four-Bedroom Hillside Villa 2,265 m² including outdoor space
- Families: no connecting rooms; villas with up to four bedrooms; a children’s activity programme
- Meals: half-board, full-board and all-inclusive plans
- Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star; in the Michelin selection without a Key
Caribbean
Jumby Bay Island, Antigua
Jumby Bay is a 300-acre private island two miles off Antigua. The transfer from V.C. Bird airport is about 15 minutes by car and catamaran. The Oetker Collection took over in 2017 and renamed itself Oetker Hotels in July 2025. The island has 40 cottages, 12 villas of three to five bedrooms and 22 private estates of four to 11 bedrooms.
- Largest estate: Mariposa, 9 to 11 bedrooms, 2,064 m², up to 22 guests
- Families: Jumby Explorers Kids Club for ages 3 to 12; car-free island
- Meals: cottage and villa rates include dining at The Veranda, Sandbar and The Estate House, and drinks including champagne
- Michelin two Keys; Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Opened in December 1998 on the 1,000-acre private island of Parrot Cay. The transfer from Providenciales airport takes about 50 minutes by car and boat. COMO’s 2020 press kit lists 72 rooms and villas; Michelin lists 58. The current official count is not published.
- Largest residence: The Sanctuary, three bedrooms, 831 m², six guests
- Families: Play by COMO for ages 4 to 12; two- and three-bedroom beach houses
- Dining: Lotus, The Terrace and COMO Beach Club
- Meals: not all-inclusive; an “Island Inclusive Getaway” package adds full board and transfers
- Michelin one Key; Forbes Travel Guide Recommended
Jade Mountain, St Lucia
Jade Mountain has 29 “sanctuaries” above the Anse Chastanet estate at Soufrière, facing the Pitons. Twenty-four have private infinity pools. The fourth wall is open to the view and there are no TVs or phones. Children under 16 are not accommodated.
- Top sanctuary: Galaxy, about 2,000 sq ft with an infinity pool of about 900 sq ft
- Meals: room-only rates; all-inclusive is US$235 per person per day in 2027
- Rate (official): Sky sanctuary from US$1,575 per night, room only, 1 June to 31 October 2026, plus 20% tax and service
- Michelin two Keys; Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star
Anse Chastanet, St Lucia
Anse Chastanet is on a 600-acre estate with two beaches, about an hour from Hewanorra airport. Owner and architect Nick Troubetzkoy bought it in 1974. It has 49 rooms, 37 on the hillside and 12 by the beach.
- Children: 8 and over; a few two-bedroom suites on request
- Meals: room-only rates; all-inclusive US$210 per person per day (2026)
- Rate (official): standard room from US$550 per night, room only, 1 June to 31 October 2026, plus 20% tax and service
- Forbes Travel Guide Recommended
Greece
Porto Zante Villas & Spa, Zakynthos
Porto Zante is a seasonal villa resort at Tragaki, 8 km from Zakynthos airport. The 2026 season runs from 10 May to 31 October. Villa counts differ between sources: Small Luxury Hotels of the World lists 9, Michelin 15.
- Top villa: Imperial Spa Villa, four bedrooms (a three-bedroom villa plus a one-bedroom guest villa), 450 m² indoors, two heated pools
- Families: Kids’ Club and playground; two-, three- and four-bedroom villas
- Dining: The Club House and Maya, plus beach and in-villa dining
- Rate (official): Deluxe Spa Villa from €2,350 per villa per night, 10 to 22 May and 1 to 31 October 2026
- Michelin one Key
Australia
All eight are in Queensland’s Great Barrier Reef islands, on Kangaroo Island in South Australia or on Lord Howe Island. Michelin awards Keys to Australian hotels but publishes no restaurant guide for Australia.
Lizard Island Resort
Lizard Island Resort is on a national-park island with 24 beaches, about an hour’s charter flight from Cairns. It marked its 50th anniversary in 2025 and is operated by Delaware North. It has 40 rooms, suites and villas and is all-inclusive. Children must be 10 or over.
- Top accommodation: The House, three storeys, three bedrooms, 260 m² plus terraces and a rooftop
- Michelin three Keys; Forbes Travel Guide Recommended
Southern Ocean Lodge, Kangaroo Island
The original lodge opened in 2008 and was destroyed by bushfire on 3 January 2020. It was rebuilt and reopened in December 2023. The operator, formerly Baillie Lodges, has traded as Beckons since March 2026. It has 25 suites and is all-inclusive, with transfers from Kingscote airport. Children must be 10 or over.
- Top accommodation: Baillie Pavilion, four bedrooms, 625 m², up to eight guests
- Michelin three Keys (raised in 2026); Forbes Travel Guide Recommended; The World’s 50 Best Hotels One To Watch award 2025
Capella Lodge, Lord Howe Island
Capella Lodge has nine suites at the foot of Mount Gower and Mount Lidgbird on World Heritage-listed Lord Howe Island.
- Michelin two Keys (2026); Forbes Travel Guide Recommended (2026)
qualia, Hamilton Island
qualia opened in 2007 on the northern tip of Hamilton Island, which has direct flights from Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne and Cairns. It has 61 pavilions (90 to 120 m²) and two exclusive-use residences. Guests must be 16 or over.
- Top accommodation: The Residence, two bedrooms plus a studio, 400 m², infinity lap pool
- Meals: breakfast and non-alcoholic drinks are included; not all-inclusive
- Dining: Long Pavilion and Pebble Beach
- Michelin one Key (2025 and 2026)
InterContinental Hayman Great Barrier Reef
Hayman closed after Cyclone Debbie in 2017 and reopened as an InterContinental in 2019. It was renamed from InterContinental Hayman Island Resort in 2024. It is reached by boat, helicopter or seaplane from Hamilton Island airport. It has 182 rooms, suites and villas; Michelin lists 168.
- Top accommodation: four Hayman Residences, four bedrooms, 650 m², eight guests
- Families: kids’ club in school holidays; interconnecting rooms in the Lagoon Wing; the Beachfront Pavilions are adults only
- Meals: breakfast included; an optional all-inclusive package adds food and drink credits and boat transfers
- Dining: Pacific, Amici, Aqua and Bam Bam
- In the Michelin selection without a Key
Orpheus Island Lodge
Orpheus Island Lodge reopened in early July 2026 after a renovation of its North Beachfront rooms. It is in the Palm Islands, a 30-minute helicopter flight from Townsville. There are 14 rooms, suites and villas for up to 28 guests, all-inclusive with drinks and water-sports equipment.
- Top accommodation: North Beachfront Villa, two bedrooms
- The official site does not state a minimum age
Bedarra Island Resort
Bedarra has 12 villas for up to 24 guests, about 10 km off Mission Beach. Transfers are by launch from Mission Beach or by helicopter. Guests must be 16 or over. Rates include all meals and drinks including champagne; transfers are extra. The resort was offered for sale through CBRE in September 2025, and no outcome had been published by October 2026.
- Top villa: The Point, 134.5 m² including deck, plunge pool
Sea Dragon Kangaroo Island
Sea Dragon is a small, independently owned lodge near Cape Willoughby at the eastern end of Kangaroo Island. Children must be 12 or over. Rates include breakfast, a set dinner and beer, wine and soft drinks with dinner. From 1 October 2026 the villas became two-bedroom Retreats.
- Rate (official): Experience package from A$1,720 per night for two guests, three nights or more, stays 1 October to 23 December 2026
What changed since the 2021 guide
Dropped:
- Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort: Accor describes it as a 4-star hotel, and a renovation runs in phases to 31 October 2026
- Beach Club, Hamilton Island: one 40 m² room type and no suites; qualia, on the same island, stays
- Akama Resort: it is on the mainland at Hervey Bay, not on K’gari (Fraser Island)
- Coral Sea Marina Resort: it is on the mainland at Airlie Beach
- Heron Island Resort: it describes itself as a 3.5-star eco-resort
- Daydream Island, Green Island, Fitzroy Island, Palm Bay, Reef View Hotel, Casuarina Cove and Whitsunday Apartments: family or four-star hotels, apartments and holiday homes
Added:
- Soneva Fushi
- qualia
- Southern Ocean Lodge
- Capella Lodge
Name and ownership changes:
- North Island left Marriott’s Luxury Collection in July 2025
- Jumby Bay’s operator Oetker Collection is now Oetker Hotels
- Hayman was renamed InterContinental Hayman Great Barrier Reef in 2024
- Southern Ocean Lodge’s operator Baillie Lodges is now Beckons
For family-focused options, see luxury family resorts.