Loyalty

How to Get a Hotel Room Upgrade at a Luxury Hotel

Updated · First published

Overwater villa with a private plunge pool above a lagoon in the Maldives

The only upgrades you can lock in before arrival are upgrade certificates and paid upgrades. World of Hyatt Suite Upgrade Awards, Marriott Nightly Upgrade Awards, Hilton’s Confirmable Upgrade Reward, IHG Confirmable Suite Upgrades and Accor Suite Night Upgrades all confirm a better room before you check in. Everything else, including top-tier elite status, American Express Fine Hotels + Resorts, Virtuoso and the brands’ own adviser programmes, gives an upgrade “when available”, decided by the hotel. Asking at the desk is the least predictable route.

Programme rules below are taken from each company’s own terms and benefit pages, read on 9 October 2026. Tips from hoteliers and frequent travellers are attributed to the person who gave them.

Ways to get an upgrade compared

MethodWhen the upgrade is confirmedHighest room it can reachWhat it takes
Hyatt Suite Upgrade AwardAt bookingStandard suite (some awards cover premium suites)Milestone Rewards from 40 nights, or 6,000 points a night
Marriott Nightly Upgrade Award1 to 3 days before arrival, if availableSelect premium rooms and suites50 or 75 elite nights (Annual Choice Benefit)
Hilton Confirmable Upgrade RewardAt bookingOne-bedroom suiteDiamond Reserve (80 nights or 40 stays, and US$18,000)
IHG Confirmable Suite UpgradeAt bookingSuiteMilestone Rewards at 20, 40 or 70 nights
Accor Suite Night UpgradeBefore arrival (Accor calls it guaranteed)Suite, one night per awardPlatinum (60 nights or 14,000 Status points)
Leaders Club pre-arrival upgradeBefore arrival, if the hotel acceptsOne category, not into a suiteLeaders Club membership after one paid stay
Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Platinum and above, Hilton DiamondAt check-in, if availableStandard suite (Hyatt), select suites (Marriott), one-bedroom suite (Hilton)60, 50 and 50 nights a year
InterContinental AmbassadorAt check-in (described as guaranteed)One room categoryUS$225 a year or 45,000 IHG points
Fine Hotels + Resorts, The Edit, Visa Luxury Hotel CollectionAt check-in, if availableNot specified; some room types excludedEligible Amex, Chase or Visa card, booked through the card’s travel site
Virtuoso and brand adviser programmesAt check-in, if available (Hyatt Privé answers after booking)Set by each hotelBooking through a member travel adviser
Paying for itAt booking, before arrival or at check-inWhatever the hotel sellsCash or points

For how to earn each elite tier, and what else the tiers include, see our hotel rewards programme comparison.

Upgrades you can confirm before arrival

Hotel suite bedroom with a walk-in wardrobe and glass doors to a balcony

These are certificates or awards attached to a specific reservation. They are the only free upgrades that are not decided at the front desk.

ProgrammeAwardHow you get itRules that matter
World of HyattSuite Upgrade AwardMilestone Rewards choice at 40 nights and most later milestones; four a year for Lifetime GlobalistsConfirmed at booking, stays up to 7 nights; at resorts you must pay the Standard Rate for at least a deluxe room
World of HyattPoints upgradesRedeem points3,000 points a night for a Club room, 6,000 for a suite, 9,000 for a premium suite
Marriott BonvoyNightly Upgrade Award (formerly Suite Night Award)Five awards as an Annual Choice Benefit at 50 or 75 nightsOne award per night for the whole stay; not purchasable; not valid at Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Hilton HonorsConfirmable Upgrade RewardOne at Diamond Reserve, a second at 120 nightsUp to a one-bedroom suite, stays up to 7 nights; apply at least 36 hours before arrival
IHG One RewardsConfirmable Suite UpgradeMilestone Rewards choice at 20, 40 and 70 nightsChosen instead of points or food and beverage rewards
ALL AccorSuite Night UpgradeTwo at Platinum, one more at 18,000 Status points, then one every 4,000One award covers one night

Hyatt. Suite Upgrade Awards are the most flexible of these: they confirm when you book and can be gifted to another member. Hyatt’s terms require you to pay the Standard Rate for at least a standard room at hotels, or a deluxe room at resorts. Hyatt’s Free Nights & Upgrades page lists one points price per night for each upgrade type, with no variation by hotel category.

Marriott. You request Nightly Upgrade Awards on Marriott.com or by phone. Marriott starts checking availability three days before arrival and keeps checking until 2pm local time the day before. If nothing clears, the awards are returned. Once confirmed, you can only get them back by cancelling the whole reservation, and leaving early forfeits the unused nights. They are not accepted at Ritz-Carlton Reserve, Design Hotels or all-inclusive resorts.

Hilton. The Confirmable Upgrade Reward is booked through the Hilton Honors app or by phone and is valid for 12 months. It is not offered at Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi, Conrad Maldives Rangali Island or Hilton Maldives Amingiri.

Accor. Platinum members get two Suite Night Upgrades. Accor’s complimentary upgrades for Gold and above exclude villas, speciality and presidential suites, stop at Junior Suites at Raffles, and do not include the Fairmont Gold floor.

Elite status upgrades at check-in

The top tiers of the big programmes promise an upgrade “subject to availability” when you arrive. The hotel decides what counts as available.

TierWhat the terms promiseExclusions in the terms
Hyatt GlobalistBest room available at check-in, up to Standard Suites (the hotel’s introductory suite category) and Club roomsPremium, speciality and presidential suites
Hyatt ExploristUpgraded roomSuites and Club rooms
Marriott Platinum, Titanium, AmbassadorA complimentary upgrade for the whole stay, which can include suitesRitz-Carlton Reserve; Club-access rooms at The Ritz-Carlton
Marriott GoldEnhanced room (view, high floor, corner, Executive Floor); suites not listedRitz-Carlton Reserve; Club-access rooms at The Ritz-Carlton
Hilton Diamond and Diamond ReserveSpace-available upgrade up to a junior, standard or one-bedroom suiteExecutive suites, villas, speciality rooms; Waldorf Astoria Maldives, Conrad Maldives, Hilton Maldives Amingiri
Hilton GoldSpace-available upgrade up to Executive Floor roomsSuites
IHG Platinum and DiamondUpgrade when availableNot specified
Accor Gold and aboveNext room category, if available at check-inVillas, speciality and presidential suites

Points to check before relying on status:

  • Marriott narrowed the wording in May 2025. Before then, Platinum and above were promised “the best available room”. The current terms promise “a complimentary upgrade”, which need not be the best one, according to One Mile at a Time (November 2025).
  • Marriott now assigns upgrades automatically. Since 14 July 2025, a system starts matching Gold and higher members to upgrade rooms from 3pm local time the day before arrival and notifies the member, according to One Mile at a Time. Hotels still choose which rooms go into the upgrade pool.
  • Hilton excludes its Maldives resorts from complimentary upgrades and confirmable upgrades.
  • Status from a credit card gets the same upgrade rules. The Hilton Honors Aspire Card (US$550 a year) includes Diamond status, and the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant Card (US$650 a year) includes Platinum Elite, as of October 2026. Marriott states the Platinum benefits apply only on Qualifying Rates.

InterContinental Ambassador is the one paid membership that promises an upgrade at chain hotels. It costs US$225 for 12 months or 45,000 IHG One Rewards points and gives a “guaranteed one category room upgrade” at InterContinental hotels. IHG’s FAQ says the upgrade is applied at check-in, though it may show on the reservation beforehand. It cannot be combined with an IHG Confirmable Suite Upgrade on the same stay.

Tanner Saunders, senior hotels reporter at The Points Guy, told Condé Nast Traveller (January 2024): “Historically, top-tier Hyatt Globalists have the best luck with upgrades.”

Upgrades through booking programmes and travel advisers

Visa payment card resting on a laptop keyboard

These programmes attach a package of benefits to a booking made through a card issuer’s travel site or a member travel adviser. In every case below, the upgrade is “when available” and the hotel decides.

ProgrammeWho can bookHotelsBenefits besides the upgrade
Amex Fine Hotels + ResortsUS Platinum Card members via Amex Travel1,900+12pm check-in when available, guaranteed 4pm checkout, US$100 credit, daily breakfast for two
Amex The Hotel CollectionUS Gold, Platinum and Centurion members; minimum two nights1,400+US$100 credit
The Edit by Chase TravelChase Sapphire Reserve and J.P. Morgan Reserve cardholders; prepaid, minimum two nights1,400+Daily breakfast for two, US$100 property credit
Visa Luxury Hotel CollectionVisa Signature and Visa Infinite cardholders900+Continental breakfast for two, US$25 food or beverage credit, late checkout to 3pm on request
VirtuosoClients of a Virtuoso adviserNot checkedVaries by hotel; a Virtuoso campaign page lists breakfast for two and a US$100 credit at several hotels
Hyatt PrivéClients of invited agenciesParticipating Hyatt hotelsBreakfast for two, a property credit set by each hotel
Four Seasons Preferred PartnerClients of invited advisersAll Four SeasonsVaries by property
Rosewood EliteClients of invited agenciesAll RosewoodNot published by Rosewood
Marriott STARS and LuminousClients of invited advisersMarriott luxury brandsBreakfast for two, US$100 credit (per adviser-published descriptions)
Leaders ClubMembers booking public or member rates via LHW channels400+ independent hotelsBreakfast for two, upgrade priority on arrival, pre-arrival upgrade requests

Details that change how useful these are:

  • The Visa upgrade is defined. Visa’s terms say you are moved “to the next highest room class for the duration of your stay” when available at check-in. Amex says only that “certain room categories are not eligible”.
  • Hyatt Privé answers before you travel. Hyatt’s public Privé page is a sign-in page for advisers and lists no benefits. An adviser in the programme, La Jolla Mom (August 2026), says the hotel answers upgrade requests within 24 business hours of booking, that a standard room usually will not move into a suite or Club room, and that Privé benefits cannot be combined with member, AAA, corporate, prepaid or award rates.
  • Four Seasons publishes nothing about Preferred Partner benefits. Its page describes the programme as an “invitation-only network of high-end travel consultants”. Benefit descriptions come from member advisers, who have an interest in promoting the programme.
  • Elite status and adviser bookings can overlap. A hotel-brand adviser rate booked at an eligible rate can still earn points and status benefits. Marriott’s terms say reservations on Qualifying Rates made through travel agents must carry the membership number for the Elite Benefits Guarantee to apply. Hyatt’s terms tell members to ask their agent whether the booking is an Eligible Rate.
  • Leaders Club pre-arrival upgrades are one category and “cannot be used to upgrade to, or within, a suite category”. Members get one a year after their first paid stay, Sterling members (US$5,000 spend a year) get five.

Booking direct versus online travel agencies

Elite upgrades depend on the channel. All three big programmes write this into their terms:

  • Marriott classes rooms booked through “a tour operator, online travel channel or other third-party channel”, naming Expedia and Booking.com, as Non-Qualifying Rates, which earn no points and carry no “membership tier benefits”.
  • Hyatt lists rooms booked on third-party online retailers, including Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com, and bookings made directly on Google, as Ineligible Rates. Elite in-hotel benefits are not provided on Ineligible Rates.
  • Hilton requires a booking through a Hilton website, app, phone line, the hotel itself, or an IATA-accredited travel agent using a Hilton channel or named distribution system, for any on-property benefit including space-available upgrades.

The exception is an online agency’s own loyalty scheme. Booking.com says Genius members from Level 2 get “free upgrades, applied automatically to select stays”. Katy Maclure, editor of Jack’s Flight Club’s The Detour newsletter, told Condé Nast Traveller she has noticed more upgrades since reaching Level 3. Booking.com does not publish which hotels take part.

Paying for an upgrade

  • Marriott says upgrades can be bought on Marriott.com, in the app or on arrival.
  • Hyatt sells points upgrades at a fixed price (above). Its terms say that if you buy an upgrade at check-in, your elite benefits still follow the rate you originally booked.
  • Pre-arrival offers. Some hotels use Oracle’s Nor1 software to show upgrade offers on their booking pages and in confirmation and pre-arrival emails. With its eStandby Upgrade product, you request an upgrade at a stated price when booking or before arrival, and you only pay if it is awarded at check-in.
  • Asking at the desk. Tanner Saunders of The Points Guy told Condé Nast Traveller that he was once offered a US$100 upgrade at the Waldorf Astoria New York that moved him from an entry-level room to a multi-room corner suite.

Timing, check-in and asking

Hotel lobby with lounge seating, plants and a wooden slatted wall

Nothing in this section is in any programme’s rules. It is advice from hoteliers and frequent travellers, attributed to each.

  • Travel when the hotel is quiet. “Guests are more likely to be eligible for upgrades during quieter times, whether that means travelling in the low or shoulder seasons or opting for mid-week stays,” Michael Caines, chef-owner of Lympstone Manor and UK and Ireland delegate for Relais & Châteaux, told Condé Nast Traveller.
  • Arriving late is not a reliable trick. Ben Schlappig of One Mile at a Time (July 2026) says room assignments are now largely automated. In his view, the best odds come from arriving around standard check-in time when your blocked room is not ready, while late-night arrivals produce “the most surprises, for better or worse”, including downgrades when inventory is thin.
  • Check what the hotel is selling. Schlappig checks the Marriott app before arrival for the room he has been blocked into and for how many suites are still for sale, then asks once at check-in.
  • Ask, at the right hotel. Andrew Kelly, owner of The Bradley Hare in Wiltshire, told Condé Nast Traveller that at “an Aman or a similar top-end hotel”, asking whether other rooms are available will “almost always” produce an upgrade if one is free.
  • Build a relationship with the reservations team. Neil Kedward, founder of Seren, a hospitality agency in Wales, told Condé Nast Traveller that a reservationist who remembers your conversation “will always do the best for you on the day if they can”.
  • Book a room with somewhere to go. La Jolla Mom, a Hyatt Privé adviser, books clients into the Deluxe King at Andaz San Diego because that is the category Privé moves into the Andaz Suite, and says that from the entry-level room “the upgrade has nowhere to take you”.

What changed since this guide was first published

The October 2021 version listed 12 general tips. Changes in this update:

  • Added: confirmable upgrade awards by programme, elite upgrade rules and exclusions, InterContinental Ambassador, card and adviser programmes, the third-party booking rules from Marriott, Hyatt and Hilton terms, and paid and bid upgrades.
  • Corrected: “check in after 6pm” is replaced with One Mile at a Time’s assessment that late arrival can go either way.
  • Updated: IHG Rewards Club is now IHG One Rewards. Marriott’s Suite Night Awards are now Nightly Upgrade Awards. The Visa Signature collection now lists 900+ hotels, up from 800.
  • Removed: the 2021 credit card sign-up offers (out of date), and tips with no evidence behind them: claiming a special occasion or a divorce, offering social media coverage, choosing newer hotels, and booking shorter stays.

For more ways to stay at luxury hotels for less, see how to get free luxury hotel stays.